User login

Join The Debate

Cast your vote and join the conversation.

Membership is free.

Get Started

You are here

Afghanistan Is A Lost Cause

Afghanistan Is A Lost Cause

The BriefGet Up To Speed

Has the surge in Afghanistan failed, and is it time for the U.S. to admit defeat and start pulling our troops out? Nine years in, what have we accomplished in Afghanistan? Upon taking office in 2009, President Obama ordered an additional 17,000 troops in February and another 30,000 at year'€™s end in the hopes of staunching a rapidly deteriorating situation. Has the surge failed, or does it need time to take its course? Critics of the war are advocating everything from withdrawing our troops and concentrating on covert forces, to saving the north and abandoning the south to the Taliban. Only one thing is certain'€”there are no good options, but can the U.S. afford to abandon Afghanistan?

TNR Symposium
Tuesday, September 28, 2010
The New Republic
Lost Cause or Winnable
Sunday, August 1, 2010
Peter Beaumont
Monday, June 28, 2010
Frederick W. Kagan
Monday, March 1, 2010
Paul R. Pillar
Monday, August 1, 2016
Stephen Biddle
Wednesday, July 28, 2010
Dr. David J. Kilcullen
Monday, November 30, 2009
Kim Barker
Monday, November 2, 2009
Barbara Elias
Wednesday, April 15, 2009
John Mueller
CSIS Grand Strategy
Thursday, October 14, 2010
Anthony H. Cordesman
Center For American Progress
Sunday, May 1, 2016
Colin Cookman
Recent News
Wednesday, October 27, 2010
Todd Pitman
Monday, October 25, 2010
Dexter Filkins
Monday, October 25, 2010
Katherine Houreld
Saturday, October 23, 2010
Deb Riechmann
Wednesday, October 20, 2010
Carlotta Gall
Tuesday, October 19, 2010
Sebastian Abbott
Wednesday, October 20, 2010
Dexter Filkins
Friday, October 15, 2010
Wednesday, October 6, 2010
Deb Riechmann
Wednesday, August 4, 2010
John F. Burns